André Aisenstadt Prize

Created in 1991, the André Aisenstadt Prize in Mathematics, which includes a scholarship and a medal, recognizes outstanding research results in pure or applied mathematics by a young Canadian mathematician.

Call for nominations

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) solicits nominations for the André Aisenstadt Mathematics Prize, awarded to recognize talented young Canadian mathematicians. This Prize celebrates outstanding research achievement by a young Canadian mathematician and consists of a monetary award and a medal.

The recipient is chosen by the CRM’s International Scientific Advisory Committee. The prize is generally awarded yearly, although in a given year the decision may be made not to award it. Candidates must be no more than seven years from their Ph.D., and be either Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada, or hold a tenure-track academic position in Canada. 

To be eligible for the André Aisenstadt Prize in the year N, a candidate must have received his/her Ph.D. (or equivalent degree) in the year N – 8 or subsequently. The committee may exceptionally consider candidates who have received their degree prior but very near to the year N – 8, if it can be demonstrated that special circumstances, such as parental leaves or other leaves of absence from work, delayed professional achievements.

The recipient is invited to deliver a lecture at the CRM and to write a brief article on his or her work