Aisenstadt Chairs

The Chair allows us to welcome in each of the thematic programs (semestral or annual), two or three world-famous mathematicians for a one-week to a one-semester stay. The recipients of the Chair give a series of conferences on set subjects, chosen because of their relevance and impact, within the thematic program, the first of which, in compliance to the donor André Aisenstadt’s wish, must be accessible to a large public. They are also invited to write a monograph in the CRM Monographs Series being distributed by the American Mathematical Society.

These Chairs, which brought Terence Tao (UCLA, the youngest Fields medalist at the ICM 2006), Manjul Bhargava (Princeton, Plenary speaker ICM 2014) and K. Soundararajan (Stanford, Ramanujan Prize winner) are unique in Canada. Since 2002, six out of thirteen Fields medalists have occupied, or will occupy an Aisenstadt Chair (Lafforgue, Okounkov, Tao, Werner, Lindenstrauss, Bhargava); five of these Chairs were awarded their Fields medals within two years of their Aisenstadt Chairs, holding our Chairs at the summit of their careers.

Brief history

Dr. André Aisenstadt, a businessman and well known patron of the arts and sciences, held a doctorate in theoretical physics from the University of Zurich. In 1991, he was given the high distinction of Grand Officier of the Ordre national du Québec. He always maintained a keen interest in the study of mathematics. For more than twenty years, he expressed his support for the Université de Montréal, creating the chair which carries his name. Dr. Aisenstadt deceased in December 2001.

Nicolas Bergeron (ENS)
Octobre 2020 – Théorie des nombres

Wieslawa Niziol (CNRS-Sorbonne Université)
Novembre-décembre 2020-Théorie des nombres

Éva Tardos (Université Cornell)
Janvier 2020 – Learning Games

Hiraku Nakajima (University of Tokyo)
Août 2019 – Variétés des carquois et théorie des représentations

Ciprian Manolescu (UCLA)
Septembre 2019 – Topologie en basses dimensions

Selim Esedoglu (University of Michigan)
4 janvier – 22 juillet 2016

Bertrand Eynard (CPT, CEA Saclay)
28 septembre – 6 novembre 2015

Nikita Nekrasov (IHES / SCGP)
14 – 18 septembre 2015

Pierre Colmez (CNRS & Paris VI Jussieu)
5, 12, 17, 19, 24, 26, 31 mars et 2, 8 avril 2015

Sophie Morel (Princeton)
23, 25 février, 5,17, 19 mars, 4, 8, 11, 13 mai 2015

Carl Pomerance (Dartmouth College)
8,11, 12 décembre 2014

Zeév Rudnick (Tel Aviv)
16, 17, 18 septembre 2014

André Aisenstadt