Simons-CRM Scholar-in-Residence Program

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) continues its call for proposals for its scholar-in-residence program. This program, funded with the generous support of the Simons Foundation, is directed towards exceptional researchers in mathematics and related areas at both the junior (less than 10 years since PhD) and senior levels, and will permit the CRM to invite for extended visits such researchers visiting from outside the local CRM network. During their visit, senior researchers will hold the title Simons CRM Professor; junior researchers will be designated as Simons CRM Scholars.

The scholars-in-residence will be chosen to enhance the manifold research activities held at the CRM. In particular, they will participate in and enrich the CRM thematic programs. They will also contribute to the collaborative research activities of the CRM research laboratories.

The visits of scholars-in-residence will be between one and six months in length. The support covers round-trip travel to Montréal and the costs of local accommodation, including family accommodation when needed. Senior researchers will additionally be provided with a research budget for the purpose of inviting collaborators to visit them during their residency. In exceptional circumstances, the CRM may also be able to facilitate visits by paying the home institutions of scholars-in-residence for a one-course teaching release.

Applications may be submitted by the proposed scholar-in-residence or by a local researcher, CRM laboratory, or CRM event organizer, on behalf of the proposed visitor. Please include the following documents:

  • A cover letter written by the proposed candidate indicating the scientific justification for the visit and preferred dates;
  • A current CV of the proposed scholar-in-residence;
  • A letter of support from a CRM-affiliated individual or research group, or event organizer, when appropriate.

The CRM’s International Scientific Advisory Committee will consider proposals four times per year. The corresponding submission deadlines are January 10, April 1, July 1, and October 1.  The intended start date of the research visit should be at least 8 months after the submission deadline.

The CRM is proud to subscribe to the Université de Montréal’s policy on adapting to cultural diversity and is committed to taking into account the diversity and the systemic and individual barriers to access (for example, related to ethnic origin, gender, disability) when selecting visiting researchers.

Applications should be submitted to the CRM at


Armendariz, Inés (Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina)

Beltran, Johel (Pontificia Universidad Catolica del Peru)

Berestycki, Julien (University of Oxford, UK)

Foxall, Eric (University of British Columbia, Canada)

Heydenreich, Markus (Universität München, Germany)

Jara, Milton (IMPA, Brazil)

Landim, Claudio (IMPA, Brazil)

Mallein, Bastien (Université Paris 13 – Paris Nord, France)

Mourrat, Jean-Christophe (École Normale Supérieure – Paris, France)

Nahmod, Andrea (University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA)

Oh, Tadahiro (University of Edinburgh, UK)

Pain, Michel (New York University, USA)

Penington, Sarah (University of Bath, UK)

Ramanan, Kavita (Brown University, USA)

Zeitouni, Ofer (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)

Bowman-Scargill, Chris (University of York, UK)

Chan, Ada (York University, Canada)

Crampé, Nicolas (CNRS/Université de Tours, France)

Creutzig, Thomas (University of Alberta, Canada)

Iliev, Plamen (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)

Lentner, Simon (University of Hamburg, Germany)

Maciejko, Joseph (University of Alberta, Canada)

Nepomechie, Rafael I. (University of Miami, USA)

Nikshych, Dmitri (University of New Hampshire, USA)

Pei, Du (Harvard University, USA)

Peters, Emily (Loyola University Chicago, USA)

Plavnik, Julia (Indiana University Bloomington, USA)

Post, Sarah (University of Hawaii at Manoa, USA)

Ragoucy Aubezon, Éric (CNRS, Université Savoie Mont Blanc, France)

Ridout, David (University of Melbourne, Australia)

Terwilliger, Paul (University of Wisconsin, USA)

Valeri, Daniele (University of Glasgow, UK)

van Ekeren, Jethro (Universidade Federal Fluminense (UFF), Brazil)

Velazquez, Luis (Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain)

Weston, Robert A. (Heriot-Watt University, UK)

Zuiddam, Jeroen (NYU Courant Institute, USA)

Aldana Domingez, Clara Lucia (Max-Planck-Institut für Gravitationsphysik, Germany)

Biedermann, Georg (Universidade del Norde, Columbia)

Degli Esposti, Mirko (Università di Bologna, Italy)

Dominguez Bonilla, Oscar (Université Lyon 1, France)

Hron, Karel (Palacky University, Czech Republic )

Sedunova, Alisa (Saint-Petersburg State University, Russia)

Tikhonov, Sergey (Centre de Recerca Matemàtica, Barcelona, Spain)

Vonk, Jan (University of Leiden, Netherlands)


Annalisa Panati, Université de Toulon, France

Oleksiy (Alexei) Zhedanov, Renmin University of China


Octavio Arizmendi Echegaray, Centro de Investigación en Matemáticas, Mexico

Serban Belinschi, Université Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier, France

Mireille Capitaine, Université Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier, France

Guillaume Cébron, Université Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier, France

Ken Dykema, Texas A&M University, USA

James Mingo, Queen’s University, Canada

Ion Nechita, Université Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier, France

Alexandru Nica, University of Waterloo, Canada

Jonathan Novak, University of California – San Diego, USA

Roland Speicher, Universität des Saarlandes, Germany

Dan-Virgil Voiculescu, University of California – Berkeley, USA

Maxime Breden, Technische Universität München, Germany

Renato C. Calleja, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico

Konstantin Mischiakow, Rutgers University, USA

Jason D. Mireles James, Florida Atlantic University, USA

Vidit Nanda, Universty of Oxford, UK

Jan Bouwe van den Berg, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands

Lauren K. Williams, University of California – Berkeley, USA

Jana de Wiljes, Universität Postdam, Germany

Matthias Morzfeld, University of Arizona, USA

Levon Nurbekyan, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia

Sebastian Reich, Universität Postdam, Germany / University of Reading, UK

Steven J. Ruuth, Simon Fraser University, Canada

Claudia Schillings, Universität Mannheim, Germany

Andrew M. Stuart, California Institute of Technology, USA

Aretha L. Teckentrup, University of Edinburgh, UK

Jonathan Weare, University of Chicago, USA

Daniel Alvarez-Gavela, Princeton University, USA

Sylvain Courte, Université de Grenoble, France

Paolo Ghiggini, Université de Nantes, France

Stéphane Guillermou, Institut Fourier, France

Vivek Shende, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Anton Alekseev, Université de Genève, Switzerland

Dror Bar-Nathan, University of Toronto, Canada

Lassina Dembélé, University of Warwick, UK

Tetsuya Ito, Université de Kyoto, Japan

Gwénaël Massuyeau, Université de Bourgogne, France

Florian Naef, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Roland van der Veen, Universiteit Leiden, Netherlands

Joel Kamnitzer, University of Toronto, Canada

Lisa Piccirillo, University of Austin, USA

Bulent Tosun, University of Alabama, USA

Jean-Bernard Lasserre, Laboratoire d’analyse et d’architecture des systèmes du CNRS, France

Jon Lee, University of Michigan, USA

Ruth Misener, Imperial College London, UK

F. Bruce Shepherd, University of British Columbia, Canada